Spring Cleaning: Facing the Monsters in the Closet

Spring is nearly here and it’s time to get a jump on Spring Cleaning! (Because let’s be honest, it could take all year…)

First stop for me….my closet. For weeks (okay, months) I have ignored the piles and the chaos my closet has turned into. There are monsters lurking everywhere in there: Activewear mixed in with sweaters, I can’t find the shoes I want to wear in under 10 minutes (my daughter gives me 10 seconds), a never ending pile of jeans….which I never wear, my soccer cleats which belong in the garage (who did that!), a GIANT pile of my husband’s clothes I have to climb over (Laundry? Dry cleaning? Donate?) and the scariest monster of all….a collection of dress pants from my prior life as a professional left untouched for 3 years.

Enough is enough!

Does any of this sound familiar? Time to face those monsters and get organized!

Here are 4 easy ways to face the monsters one-by-one:

Mystery Floor Piles (i.e. someone else’s clothing): This is the easiest monster to face. Clearly label dedicated baskets for laundry and dry cleaning. If it doesn’t make it into a basket it goes on their side of the bed! Done.

THIS is where laundry goes!

THIS is where laundry goes!

Pre-Baby clothing: THIS is the scariest monster of all for most of us moms. It’s okay…we’ve all faced it. It can be hard to let go of a past identity or size. It’s taken me 3 years to face the reality that my new life as a SAHM and my new hips will not require the services of my old dress pants. I will not lie. It was still not easy.

Rip the band-aid off! Try everything on quickly and don’t dwell. Remember, everyone’s body changes after having a baby and being healthy is more important than the tag inside the clothing.Look for a women’s shelter or non-profit that helps women get back on their feet to donate the clothing to. Knowing you’re helping someone in need make a difference in their life can soften the blow.

After donating your old items, replace them with a new staple piece or two in your new size. Remember, you are fabulous!

Clothing that no longer fits- GONE.

Clothing that no longer fits- GONE.

Foul odors: If you are active you probably have some gear with some foul odors. To freshen sports gear or other fitness items try spraying them with a solution of equal part white vinegar and warm water then air them out. For sports bags, you can try filing a sock with baking soda and placing it inside for a couple of days or laundering if it’s machine washable.

Organize: Move articles of clothing you wear a majority of the time to the easiest to reach spots (hello my favorite stretchy Ponte pants, active leggings and sneakers!). Easy access saves time and moms need every free second they can get!

Activewear front & center.

Activewear front & center.

Now that you’ve tackled the monsters in your closet, on to the kid’s closets, the pantry, the linen closet, the garage, the yard, the…

What other monsters lurk in your closet?

Leave a Reply

