Pursuit of a Passion: Week 5- Support: The Key to Success

Soccer Mom Active Fitness

The previous Kick It Like Mom article Unlocking Your Potential talked about how much focus we put on our children’s potential rather than on our own and asked the question: What can we accomplish when we focus on improving ourselves rather than just doing?

I’ve set out on a 6 -week journey to find out. I’m attending a comprehensive Women’s Soccer Academy put on by Pro Skills Soccer and professional players Keelin Winters and Dani Foxhoven of the Seattle Reign FC. The course guarantees you’ll leave a stronger overall player and athlete. Can this 30-something soccer mom still learn some new tricks in the sport I love or should I leave well enough alone? I’ll be sharing what I learn!

Week 5

“You can do anything as long as you have the passion, the drive, the focus and the support.” ~Sabrina Bryan (singer)

If achieving a goal was easy, it wouldn’t be nearly as rewarding.

When I set out 6 weeks ago to become a stronger soccer player through the Pro Skills Soccer Academy, I knew it was going to be hard. Being the mom of a toddler puts serious limitations on my time and energy but this goal was important to me. I knew I would have to push through a few tough times.

I’m in the homestretch now with the final assessment of our skills, to see how much we have improved, just hours away. I went into this last week of training highly motivated to up the intensity and push myself so I could leave confident I gave the course all I had. Also, we found out there was to be a prize for most improved player! (I love to win…prizes, matches, arguments, diaper battles….)

But this past week I really started to wear down with the time the 3 extra training sessions per week had taken from my schedule and the toll on my body from training and playing in some very physical games. I was also finding it hard to train due to poor weather and my husband’s busy work schedule. It was starting to look like I would go into my final testing with no practice in the week leading up to it which was not how I wanted to end my journey.

Womens soccer coervers

Thankfully my mom offered to watch my daughter this morning so that I could squeeze in training before test time. I found an empty soccer field and pushed through all my drills without any distractions. When I finished I felt confident and ready….just the way I was hoping! This support I received from my mom was huge, even if it was only for a couple hours.

It’s easy to only focus on the measurable aspects of working towards a fitness goal (running 4 miles this week, training 5 times next week) but you’ve GOT to have support to be successful. Especially if you have kids whose needs are frequently prioritized above your own. A strong support system will help you push through those tough days when you’re tired, discouraged and down on yourself. (And those days hit everyone).

Your support may come from the Kids Club at gym, your friends and teammates to cheer you on, a babysitter to watch your kids, your husband or partner to do all of the above. Find your support system. Ask for help. Thank them. Watch a fellow mom’s kids so she can pursue her passion, cheer on your own teammates, bribe (oops- I mean thank) your husband or partner with a gift to show your gratitude.

Soccer women mom teammates

Teammates are the best!

These people in your life help you succeed.

I set out 6 weeks ago to see if I had the potential to become a stronger soccer player and athlete despite being in my 30’s and chasing after a toddler. I was able to give it everything I had thanks to my supportive teammates cheering me on, my mom and my wonderful husband for supporting me in so many ways while I chased after my dream.

Now, on to the final test….

Who is in your support network? Leave a comment!

One Comment on “Pursuit of a Passion: Week 5- Support: The Key to Success

  1. Pingback: A Mom, Her Soccer Ball and Going After a Goal | kickitlikemom

Leave a Reply

